The CCFFR Officers for 2006 are as follows:


  • President: Dr. Michael Fox
    Environmental and Resource Studies, Trent University, Peterborough ON [mfox@trentu.ca]

  • Programme Chair: Dr. Allen Curry
    Canadian Rivers Institute, University of New Brunswick, Fredericton NB [racurry@unb.ca]

  • Secretary-Treasurer: Andrew Cooper
    Department of Fisheries and Oceans, Ottawa, ON [coopera@dfo-mpo.gc.ca]

  • Local Arrangements: Dr. John Post
    Department of Biological Science, University of Calgary, Calgary AB [jrpost@ucalgary.ca]

  • Nominations: Dr. Rob McLaughlin
    Department of Integrative Biology, University of Guelph, Guelph ON [rlmclaug@uoguelph.ca]


    The CCFFR 2006 Programme Themes and Theme-Chairs are:

  • (1) Ecology and management of large rivers (CCFFR/SCL opening joint session)
    Chair: Dr. Joe Rasmussen, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Lethbridge, Lethbridge, AB (joseph.rasmussen@uleth.ca)

  • (2) Linking mountain and prairie freshwaters (CCFFR/SCL)
    Chair: Dr. Rolf Vinebrooke, Freshwater Biodiversity Laboratory, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB (rolfe@ualberta.ca)

  • (3) Assessing environmental impacts in aquatic ecosystems (CCFFR/SCL)
    Co-Chairs: Drs. Karen Kidd (kiddk@unbsj.ca) and Kelly Munkittrick (krm@unbsj.ca), Canadian Rivers Institute, University of New Brunswick, St. John, NB.

  • (4) Introduced aquatic species and their effects (CCFFR/SCL)
    Chair: Dr. Nick Mandrak, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Great Lakes Laboratory for Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences, Canada Centre for Inland Waters, Burlington, ON (mandrakn@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

  • (5) Recreational Fisheries (CCFFR)
    Chair: Dr. John Post, Division of Ecology, Department of Biological Science, University of Calgary, Calray, AB (jrpost@ucalgary.ca)

  • (6) Climate Change and Multisectoral Water Use Conflicts from a Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences Perspective
    Co-chairs: Kim Hyatt, Fisheries and Oceans Canada (HyattK@pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca) and Mark Johannes, C-CIARN (mark@fishclimate.ca)

  • There is also the invited Annual CCFFR Stevenson Lecture and SCL Frank Rigler Memorial Award Lecture